Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need Advice--Newbie First Trip In The COLD

I'm fairly new to backpacking and a FL boy. Most of my trips have been in FL where we can get by with a 50 to 40 degree setup most of the time and minimal sleeping clothing.

My current set up is a Chameleon with HG 20deg Burrow and Incubator quilts, and a Dutchware Xenon tarp.

I'm planning a trip up to Pisgah next week and the lows are trending towards the 30's at elevation. Will I freeze my cojones off with this set up....?

Also, can you guys provide some advice on what type of sleeping clothing I should pack for these temps?

Any other advice is much appreciated.....

Thanks!
    Last edited by benjid; 11-10-2021 at 18:19.

Hammock
    To many
    Tarp
    To many
    Insulation
    Incubator 20 + oth
    Suspension
    Buckles
    Images
    I don't hike but motorcycle travel. In mid 20° weather I double my UQ s. Sleep in long John's, wool socks, my clothes & a down jacket with gloves & a boggin. I use a 0° rectangular down bag. If I get a little warm, I vent but that rarely happens.

Hammock
    DIY GE 12’ Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    SLD Winter Haven
    Insulation
    CDT Gemini DIY
    Suspension
    Whoopi slings
    Images
    20F quilts should keep you fairly warm at those temperatures, but if you are a “cold sleeper” then you might want to augment with some fleece pants, loose fleece or wool socks, and a fleece top. Have your puffball jacket handy - I use mine to help with any cold spots if they creep in.

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D
    Are you backpacking solo, or with friends?
    If possible, get a friend to lay in your hammock, while you check for air gaps in underquilt, and adjust as needed.

After adjusting underquilt, you should lay in your hammock and check for even warmth versus cold spots. Easier to remedy in afternoon, than at 200am.