Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Underquilt for 70" Darien

Hi, this is my first post, and sorry, it's another post about an underquilt decision.

Been lurking here and reading a bunch. I've been using a Hennessy off and on for many years. Never really found it comfortable, and I've never spent a night in it when I've been warm and cozy. Made a commitment with the family to go camping more (bikepacking actually), and it's time to get a warm and comfortable hammock setup.

I tried the Blackbird XLC. I really, really wanted to love it. I worked with it in my backyard for a while and it's just not for me. Spur of the moment I ordered an RTS Darien, 11' long, 70" wide, 1.7 MTN XL, and I love it!

So now I want to get an underquilt ( tried various pads in the Hennessy - pads are not for me ). I'm going to order either an UGQ Zeppelin or a Wooki XL. I've got a good idea about temp rating that will work for me, just hoping for some discussion about other aspects like fit, comfort, ease, etc. between these two options since my Darien is quite wide. I'm not particularly worried about saving a few ounces or a bit of bulk, not too much of a problem on my bike.

I have read some other posts discussing similar, but apparently I still want to talk about it more. Thanks.

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp
    OES, WL BullFro
    Insulation
    HG UQ, TQ, WB UQ
    Suspension
    Python Straps
    sloth99, Welcome to the forum. T’were it me, I’d shy away from the Wooki. I’m guessing you could make it work, but it is really designed for the BlackBird or XLC. One thing to consider is your size. For example, if you are in the 5’6” range, then you can save dollars, weight, and bulk by using a ¾ length UQ. I have several quilts from Hammock Gear, WarBonnet, ArrowHead Equipment and WildernessLogics. They ALL work.