WWBB
    Tarp
    HB Pelican
    Insulation
    WB Wooki, UGC TQ
    Suspension
    Becket Hitch

Hummingbird Pelican Rain Tarp

I'm new to hammock camping and have been trying to find the right tarp for me. Being a pretty small person, I'm trying to keep my weight down, so I'm looking for something that is lightweight but offers good coverage. I've been looking at some Dyneema options, but I'm a bit turned off by some of the downsides that go along with DCF (including the price). Has anyone tried the Hummingbird Pelican Rain Tarp? It seems surprisingly light for not being DCF, but there aren't too many reviews online, so I'm hesitant to just take the plunge and buy it without knowing much about it.

I have not used that particular tarp, however the specifications look good.
    I have a sil-nylon tarp that I have used for years without issue.
    I like sil-nylon as it seems to pack down smaller than dcf however you do get a bit of stretch with sil-nylon. As long as your prepared for that, you should be fine.

Sent from my SM-N986U using Tapatalk

Hammock
    DW Chameleon, WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    Thunder/Superfly
    Insulation
    HG 20/40
    Suspension
    DW Beetle Buckles
    Yeah, pretty lightweight (12.8oz) for having full doors. That 0.9oz silpoly I think equates to 15d, so it's gonna be pretty thin. My WB tarps are all 20d silpoly (1.1 oz?). The WB Superfly would be comparable and it's around 18 oz.

My silpoly WB Thunderfly weighs 13.4 oz, and has been thru some crazy FL storms. Honestly, it's my main choice over the Superfly...unless we're going winter camping, where I'd like to have full wind blocks on the ends.

Hopefully, someone on the forums has experience with this tarp.

Hammock
    DH Darien, SLD Tree Runner
    Tarp
    HG hex
    Insulation
    Timmermade, Revolt
    Suspension
    Kevlar, Lapp Hitch
    Images