WB Thunderfly
    Insulation
    EE Rev 20, JRB MW3
    Suspension
    Becket, J-bend

Appalachian Trail, last 500mi section hike, gear shakedown

Hi all,

First post on here.

I'm planning for a hike of the North end of the Appalachian Trail, the last 500 miles or so through NH and ME. I'd like a gear shakedown.

My style isn't ultralight, but I'm trying to push further that direction, within certain constraints. My base weight is still about 20lbs, but a couple trips ago it was 40lbs, so -- progress!

I'm just getting into hammocking, so I especially want advice about what hammock system to buy. I've hammock-backpacked only once, but I think I slept better than I ever have in a tent, so I'm about ready to take the plunge to buy real hammock gear. Here's what I used last trip:
    CURRENT SYSTEM
    Kootek hammock ~$28 23.1oz
    straps, Kootek hammock included 13.7oz
    Equip Hammock bug net #97712 (Walmart) $15 12.2oz
    Paria Sanctuary Siltarp, 10’x8’ (over spec weight; hence discount) ~$45 25.2oz
    TOTAL $88 74.2oz

While heavy, this system worked reasonably well. I did find the bug net to be rather stifling on my outing (June in WV), so I didn't use it. Here's a gear list from that trip: https://lighterpack.com/r/6m6eev

In choosing a "real" backpacking hammock, I considered the Warbonnet Blackbird as an "all in one solution" but I think I prefer to sleep on the other diagonal -- with my head to the right, and feet to the left -- which is opposite the setup of the WBBB, unfortunately. So I've given preference to options that allow flexibility of which diagonal to use.

Below are a few options I've concocted. Should I choose one of these? Something else? What considerations should I have?

For reference, I'm pretty fit guy, about 5'10" tall and about 165 lbs.

option A:
    CHAMELEON SYSTEM from Dutchware Gear
    Chameleon Hammock, 11-ft, Hexon 1.6 (including asym bugnet) $165 577.48g (20.38oz)