Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair
    Tarp
    SLD Trail Haven
    Insulation
    TQ
    Suspension
    Custom Dutch

Question Back to hammocking , advice needed...

Hello everyone, thanks for tuning in.
    Summer is coming, preparations for backcountry-worthiness in full gear!

I am going back to hammocking for my next trip.
    Here is my history:

I started backpacking solo month long trips with a hammock and tarp about 4 years ago.
    I had an underquilt for bottom insulation. Some nights i had trouble sleeping comfortably. Although the UQ was rated properly for those night's temp (i think it was a 40 F incubator) i felt chilly at times. Especially troublesome were some windy nights.
    Now, in the end of trips, i had got a better understanding of how to cinch and suspend tightly properly the UQ, and it was better a bit. Still felt a bit underwhelmed.

Now, i think a lot of that might have been that i was a beginner. Since then i have advanced reasonably and i am confident that i can set tarp better and choose better places to camp , so i am confident i will have a better time. But i learned early how important is the loss of heat from wind when hammocking.

I then went on for the next two years and tried ground sleeping, with bivy and tarp. I wanted to see how it worked and compare, plus it was lighter and a bit cheaper setup to have.
    Now i want to go back to hammocking (at least for the area my next trip will be).
    I have learned well the limitation of the bivy: hard to find camp spots.
    I wasted many hours looking for proper spots. And i do not hike in trail designated areas, but more wild places, so the ground there is untouched rough.
    Finding a place that has proper trees apart for a tarp and then a relatively flat ground for the bivy underneath, is a pain...
    I also have appreciated the fact that with the hammock ground does not matter, plus you are not pinched down in a small bivy.

The problems i had with hammocking: