Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Is a 3/4 Quilt right for me?

Hi,
    I'm planning on hiking the AT in 2 months (ME to GA). I'm kinda new to real hammock camping and need an underquilt. I had an ENO ember and used it on a high 30-degree night and froze my butt off. I'm looking at getting a 30-degree economy quilt from hammock gear. I'm 5'3" and I have a thin eva foam mat from Mountain Laurel. Should I be okay with getting the phoenix (a 3/4th quilt) or should I opt for the full-length incubator?

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' HyperD 1.6
    Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    WB Straps+Buckles
    Images
    It's a personal thing and hard to know for sure. I tired...hard! I literally bought the same quilt (Phoenix) twice and sold twice. Sounds stupid, but I wanted to make it work. In the end, it just wasn't worth a few ounces to me.

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair
    Tarp
    Superfly/Minifly
    Insulation
    WB DB, LL Habanero
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Lot of factors go into this. Are you generally a warm or a cold sleeper? The Hammock Gear quilts are generally regarded as comfort rated. So a 30F should be comfortable down to 30F.

Will you have a tarp up to help cut out the wind?

For whats it worth owning a few 3/4 length and a full length UQ, I only use my full length for trips that will be 20F or below. Above that I sleep pretty comfortably with my 3/4 length UQs and a Zlite sit pad stuffed into the footbox of my topquilt.

Hammock
    Dutch Wide
    Tarp
    HG Dyneema
    Insulation
    SLD & HG
    Suspension
    Myerstech UHMWPE
    Definitely test it if you can.

You could also test with a Poncho Liner Underquilt (PLUQ) at slightly warmer temps to see if the length bothers you. I have one I made for a Hennessy hammock and my worst night of sleep was when it dipped into the high 40s and my feet were freezing.