WB Eldorado
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckle

Best way to extend my current gear into winter

I have a 20 degree UQ and a 15 degree TQ which I've comfortably used into the mid 20s. I don't really want to buy new quilts and I don't have much desire to go out in sub zero temperatures. I would like to try and get in the 10-15 degree F range though with my current set up. I already have an UQ protector so I'm wondering what might get me an extra 5-10 degrees of warmth more efficiently: a top cover, a winter sock, or would just adding a sleeping bag liner inside my quilt get me down there? Would love to hear what you all think would be best option.

Hammock
    DIY Hexon 1.0, Hexon 1.6
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    HG UQ's, EE TQ
    Suspension
    Dutch Mantis
    Don't go the liner route - great concept that results in a wrestling match and maybe +5 degrees.

Given your parameters, I would add puffy down pants (I use Montbell) and add your puffy jacket once you get chilled. You already know how nice they are in camp too.

If they are already part of your setup at 20f (I doubt they are unless you're a cold sleeper), then the winter sock (w/ good ventilation) would be my next recommendation. Most warmth is retained via the bottom side, so the top cover probably won't do it, but I don't have experience there.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by sls25 View Post