Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

First Timer - Need advice on dealing with wind

Hammock newb here...

Although I have plenty of experience and well-dialed-in kit for ground camping I'm planning to hang for the first time on a 3 day trip next week. The area is a low desert canyon and, of course, it's looking like it will be windy the entire time I'm there. Depending on the weather model I'm looking at sustained winds from 10 - 20 mph and gusts up to 35 - 40mph. I've been in this area before when the weather has been like this and the winds can get unpleasant, especially at night.

Two questions:

1) Since this would be my first hang would I be better off postponing until I'm headed someplace where weather won't be as much of a variable? I know that it's going to take some work to get the hammock and tarp dialed in and I fear that this may be a massive exercise in frustration if I'm doing that with a high wind.

2) The plan for this trip is to hike into a campsite and then stay encamped there for 2 nights (so the second day is a day hike, leaving our gear behind). If I do end up taking the hammock then how should I handle it for the day that we're away from camp? Should I leave the tarp pitched and hope that nothing wind-related causes issues or should I plan on breaking down the hammock / tarp for the day?

The hammock setup is the WanderLuxe from HG (so DCF tarp) and my first opportunity to trial the setup will be at home this weekend. I leave for my trip Tuesday morning so I'm a little concerned that I'm cutting it close. If it weren't for this damned wind I'd have no concerns, but southern AZ is getting absolutely hammered this year.

Hammock
    one wind 11' wide
    Tarp
    one wind 12'
    Insulation
    SLD, UGQ, LL, JRB
    Suspension
    UCR
    Also in Tucson at the moment.