Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

What Knot System/Guyline Tensioner Do You Use For Your Tarp?

Hello everyone! As I am slowly acquiring everything I need to move away from the tent life, I am learning the ins and outs of sleeping in a hammock. My question is this: what system do you use for your tarp guylines? On my tent, it came with a 3 hole plastic guyline tensioner (similar to these, but with smaller holes). I never had a problem with them, but feel they're not the most elegant solution. I am interested in hearing what you use for your guylines.

Things I have considered so far: Z-pack linelocs, prusik knots, some kind of knot like the beckett hitch (IDK I am still learning knots). I actually bought few of the Simply Light Designs plastic 3 hole guyline tensioners, but the holes are quite a bit bigger than the ones that came with my tent.

Ideally, I want my guylines to stay attached to my tent, so that pretty much eliminates things like the Dutchware tarpworm.

Marlin spike hitch zing-it to ground stake, pull to desired tension and plant stake at 90 degree angle to the angle of the line.

Sent from my ONEPLUS A6013 using Tapatalk

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by tennistime99 View Post
    Marlin spike hitch zing-it to ground stake, pull to desired tension and plant stake at 90 degree angle to the angle of the line.

Couldn't have said it better. This is where I settled after trying lots of different gizmos and creatures. I still have a tarp or two with Lineloc 3 hardware attached, but the method above is cheapest, lightest, simple, and very effective.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    I like and still use tarp tensioner made with a piece of guyline and shockcord.
    Shug

Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by snel6424 View Post