Dutchware chameleon (wide)
    Tarp
    TBD
    Insulation
    Hangtight and diy
    Suspension
    Beetle buckle

Wide Underquilt Needed?

Hey all! I just got a wide dutchware chameleon. Are there benefits to also having a wide UQ? I’m thinking it will be that much warmer and more comfortable but would love to hear from anyone with a wide hammock what they prefer. Thanks!

Hammock
    Chameleon Wide
    Tarp
    Xenon Hex
    Insulation
    Cedar Ridge
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckle
    Images
    I like my 20° Cedar Ridge Wide underquilt and I have a wide Chameleon. Took me a bit to get it dialed in but I'm just learning and I've had the setup down in to the teens and my low was 8° with the help of a Costco down quilt.

Wide UQ definitely reduces the fiddle factor, which is a huge plus when you’re trying to eliminate a pesky draft in the middle of the night!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair 12’
    Tarp
    HG Journey
    Insulation
    HG
    Suspension
    Dynaweb
    I took advice from HG and went for one of their UQ’s and they don’t offer any width other than 44”....at 6’5” and 240lbs I’m not getting any issues yet on my wide hammock.

Hammock
    DW Chameleon
    Tarp
    Tarpless
    Insulation
    HG
    Suspension
    Whoopie's
    Images
    I also have a Wide chameleon and use a regular HG Incubator. I have no problems with it sleeping diagonal and im 6'1".

If the UQ slips off your head or feet (slips under the hammock that is), it helps to tuck the shock cord into the 2nd hook from the end on the chameleon which forces the quilt to stay attached where you need it. Also I believe dutch or someone sells plastic clips that can be used to hold the quilt to the hammock near your head and feet if slipping is an issue.

But overall, no special width is needed IMO.

Hammock
    12' Superior Hammock
    Tarp
    Kammok Kuhli
    Insulation
    Superior / UGQ