Dutchware Chameleon
    Tarp
    Dutch and HG
    Insulation
    UGQ and HG quilts
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles

Difference in loft of different fill powers

I am just getting into the whole Hammock thing in the last year. During that time I ordered my first set of quilts 20 degree 800 fill power. Now I have added a set of 40° 850 fill power quilts. There does seem to be a difference in the loft between the two different fill powers. Maybe it is just that with the 850 you do not get the “thin spots “where are you have to shift your down around a little bit. I just think it is interesting.I do not know if I would pay the extra for the 900 fill power down but it would be interesting to actually be able to compare.
    Last edited by Longwinters; 02-23-2021 at 13:32.

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp
    OES, WL BullFro
    Insulation
    HG UQ, TQ, WB UQ
    Suspension
    Python Straps
    Longwinters, in the section for donating members, there’s a sub-forum on Ultralight gear where I asked about 850 fill vs 950. I was advised that, if a lighter TQ/UQ was the goal, I’d get more result by paying attention to fabric choices; 10D vs 15D for example. There were some posts that preferred 850 over 950. They acknowledged that though 950 was initially lighter, in some circumstances it seemed to loose it’s loft quicker. Note that in colder weather, without a chance to “air out” - like a foggy, cold, wet, 3 or 4 day camping trip - condensation will can build up. Warmer, summer days - probably not a concern.
    In order to see what few have seen, you must go where few have gone. And DO what few have done.

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    DIY Bridge
    Insulation
    DIY Down
    The term "Fill Power" means how many cubic inches a single ounce, of down, will fill. So it takes more of the 800 FP down for a given volume, than the 850 FP.