1.0 HyperD DIY
    Tarp
    Dutchware DCF
    Insulation
    DIY down
    Suspension
    Straps

CBS with a 0* UQ?!?

I have a JRB old rag mountain quilt, that’s rated to 0 degrees. Last night is the first time that I’ve ever used it as an UQ. I usually use a 3/4 length UQ with a differential cut that I made myself. I’ve only been hammocking for less than a year, so I’m still learning the how-to’s of winter hanging. Temps last night were in the low to mid 20’s, which I know the JRB can handle well as a TQ. However, I decided it wasn’t worth the hassle of constantly readjusting the pad under my feet, so I strung up the JRB in UQ mode, and I used my new DIY top quilt. I woke up around 1am with a very noticeable chill to my derrière. Luckily, I’d brought the 3/4 quilt with me as a backup, since it was my first time using the new TQ in those temps.

Now, it’s very possible that the JRB needs a good wash, or that I could’ve strung it up too tight, but the first thought that popped in my mind at 1am was “no differential cut!” Would the cut have made enough of a difference that I’d wake up cold with a 0* quilt? Or was it something I did wrong hanging it up? My hammock is on the short side, so the quilt was within an inch or two of either end. Because of that, I had to head and foot ends cinched up pretty good. Waking up cold was the LAST thing I went to sleep worrying about!

Hammock
    SLD Trail Lair(s)
    Tarp
    SLD & Mtn. Fly
    Insulation
    HG 0,20,40 UQ
    Suspension
    Whoopies & webbing
    Been there and felt that, I bet most here have had that experience. In my estimation it’s likely a gap that allowed cold air to channel in. Either from the side or even from the head or foot ends. Get someone your size to lay in it and double check to see where gaps might be. Adjust accordingly to eliminate. It’s a bit tricky as each time you set up it varies a bit and it doesn’t take much to get a gap.

Shug’s videos help on this topic.