Hammock
    MYOG Bridge
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Suspension
    Straps & Turtles
    Images

Bic/HikerDad Bridge Mod?

I'm relatively new to the DIY hammock process, but I'm wondering about the following mod on on the bridge made by Bic all that time ago.

My thought it to make the foot end just a bit more flat to reduce the tendency for the feet to squash together, something I have with my WBBB - and can live with but if I'm making my own bridge it's worth exploring all the options.

Supposing one or both ends of the Bic bridge pattern are sewn perpendicular? (and the excess trimmed off post-sewing) I ran off a mini to demonstrate my idea:
    bicbridge1.png

- Would this make an appreciable difference in whether my feet are pushed together when in the hammock?
    - Would this cause additional stress on the fabric? I'm using the 1.8 AirWave that comes from the RBTR kit, but have the 1.0 HyperD to use if possible.
    - What other considerations do I need to take into account if testing myself? e.g., spreader width, etc.

Thanks so much for your help!

-
    Derek

Hammock
    DIY
    Images
    You can adjust the foot end width by changing the crossbar length. I'd suggest building it following the original pattern because bridge hammocks don't squeeze feet quite the way gathered end hammocks do. An alternative is to use a different end cap than Bic's, but don't cut anything until you make the hammock and lie in it. You can just leave 16" or so extra fabric past the spreader bar. You'll find good ideas posted by Just Bill, Grizzly Adams, Shug, and others. I'm partial to Grizz's "Origami Endcap" design. There are lots of other good ones, though.
    Last edited by WV; 01-10-2021 at 09:45.

Hammock
    Towns-End Luxury Bridge
    Quote Originally Posted by dialout View Post
    I'm relatively new to the DIY hammock process, but I'm wondering about the following mod on on the bridge made by Bic all that time ago.