Dutch Half-Zipped SL Hex 1.6
    Tarp
    Rain Fly Evolution
    Insulation
    HG 30 Phx 40 Brw
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckle

New Hammock Backpacker

Hello all. I have been hiking for a few years, I try to get out for hikes in the Whites a few times a year. I have only done day hike to date. I would like to start adding in some overnights starting next year. I have been researching hammocks and trying to decide what direction to go. In a bed I am mostly a side and stomach sleeper. As someone who has never slept in a hammock in the woods do you think there is value in jumping straight to the Amok for side and stomach sleeping comfort? Or do you think I would be best served to start with a conventional hammock? Thank you!!

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Sparrow : SLD
    Tarp
    HG : SLD
    Insulation
    HG : SLD : WB
    Quote Originally Posted by Mcameron2479 View Post
    Hello all. I have been hiking for a few years, I try to get out for hikes in the Whites a few times a year. I have only done day hike to date. I would like to start adding in some overnights starting next year. I have been researching hammocks and trying to decide what direction to go. In a bed I am mostly a side and stomach sleeper. As someone who has never slept in a hammock in the woods do you think there is value in jumping straight to the Amok for side and stomach sleeping comfort? Or do you think I would be best served to start with a conventional hammock? Thank you!!

welcome to the forums. I don't have much to say oof which hammock you should get but I will say this: I'm a 100% side sleeper in my bed (I can't sleep on my back in the bed) but in my hammock (a gathered end hammock) I'm a 100% back sleeper (I can't sleep on my side). just because you sleep one way in a bed doesn't mean you'll sleep that way in a hammock
    There's magic in the woods,
    if you know where to look for it.
    -Pete's Dragon

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation