Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Question

Newbie Question

Hi,

I'm completely new to hammocks. Do a fair bit of kayaking so have just bought some hammocks to get into kayak camping. Have been researching over the last few days and bought a Henessey Explorer Deluxe Zip for her and Henessey Safari Zip XXL for me. I'm now looking for an UQ.

Due to budget I'm thinking HG Incubator over Wookie but one worry I have is is a HG Incubator comfortable with asym hammock when left or right lay flat and does it work ok? I hear the wookie is built for that but it's a little over my budget.

Also regarding length, I'm getting full length but she is 5'2 and I am 6'2. Is there any downside to us both getting 6'2 or longer or should we get UQ lengths based on our height.

Quote Originally Posted by alborg View Post
    ...Henessey Explorer Deluxe Zip for her and Henessey Safari Zip XXL for me. I'm now looking for an UQ...she is 5'2 and I am 6'2. Is there any downside to us both getting 6'2 or longer or should we get UQ lengths based on our height.
    If she's 62 inches tall, consider a 3/4 length quilt, though I don't know how the fit of it would be on the Explorer. There's no particular downside to both of you getting a full length quilt, other than weight and bulk in the backpack, if that's an issue. In addition to the quilts you mentioned already, you might check into the Potomac, also by AHE, which is purpose built to fit the Hennessey hammocks. There's also the the Nest and the Winter Nest from Jacks 'R Better. I'll put some links below.

Caveat/Disclaimer: I have no affiliation with either of these vendors; I own products from both and find both highly satisfactory. I don't know if shipping to Australia would be cost-prohibitive.

https://www.arrowhead-equipment.com/...Camping-Quilts

https://www.jacksrbetter.com/product/the-nest/
    "...the height of hammock snobbery!"

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Sparrow : SLD
    Tarp
    HG : SLD
    Insulation
    HG : SLD : WB