Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Hammock
    Dutch chameleon / Banyan
    Tarp
    Cubin fiber
    Insulation
    HG UQ TQ / loco UQ

WBRR in the winter - looking for success stories under 0F

Fellow bridge hammockers, I am looking to get information on deep winter camping.

I have plenty of experience doing deep winter camping out of a GE hammock at this point.

https://youtu.be/kB8KqnSROPg

I just recently found out how much I love bridge hammocks. I am thinking of getting some new underquilts for the bridge hammock so i can use it in the winter instead of my normal setup. Has anyone done deep winter hammock trips in the bridge hammock? What did you use for insulation? I like how in a GE you kinda get the underquilt to help insulate your sides but in a bridge hammock you really dont have that much double coverage. I have also taken a sleeping bag and cacooned it over my entire setup when in the negatives and i dont think you can really do that with a bridge hammock...

So how about it? anyone got some good information either on youtube or just your personal experience you can share?

Yes indeed. My wife and I use our WBRR hammocks in all seasons, and have slep quite warmly in temps down into the low 20’s. We use 20 degree UGQ’s from UGQ. The Ambush UG. I don’t think they offer that quilt now, but others make good quilts to fit that hammock. Best wishes on your search.
    If you prepare for failure you will probably succeed.

Images
    Bridge hammocks and deep winter, oh yes, maybe my fav or close ( well, at least way down here, but my deep winter is way warmer than yours! )