Hammock
    HH Ultralight Explorer Zip XL
    Tarp
    HH Silnylon30d Hex
    Insulation
    WIP
    Suspension
    SpiderPoly/Beetles

Cool Hello, from Western North Carolina!

I'm pretty new to hammock camping, but I am very excited for the journey. I've been lurking around the forums for a few weeks and I have to say, there is an awesome community here. I've noticed that NC has a lot of members on here and I'm sure it's because of all the great forests we have.

So yea, I bought my Hennessy without doing much research. It's a fine hammock and it is built like a tank. I have the Explorer Ultralight Zip Xl and I added on their 30d Silnylon Hex Tarp. I'll be looking to switch over to a Dream Hammock next year, as well as a Dyneema tarp, but for now, I've been modifying my system focusing on two main components:

1- Weight: If only I had started with a Dream Hammock. I swapped the stock suspension and went with Dutchware's Spider/poly straps at 15' with beetle buckles. I'm sure I could have gone shorter on the straps, but just a couple of ounces will unlock more versatility in choosing a hang site. 7/64" Amsteel continuous loops round out the suspension. The loops weigh about 5 g each, while each Hennessy cord was about 33 g. That's two ounces right there.

I had initially ditched the stock tree huggers and grabbed some ENO Atlas straps. I was trying out the carabiner/repel ring deal that utilizes the Hennessy's stock cordage. Well, that's just insanely heavy. Each ring is 2 oz. I was messing around with using a becket hitch on the Atlas straps, but I still felt like I was missing out on something.

2- Functionality/Ease of use: The beetle buckle system seems to be one of the easiest systems out. Yes, a becket hitch is super simple and you don't need to add hardware. But the fact is, it just isn't as adjustable. Sure, you can keep taking the knot out and moving your hammock up or down, but the beetle buckle, man, these things are great and they're quite light.