Low back pain after 4-5 hours in the Hammock?

Hey everyone,

I am wondering if anyone has low back pain while in the hammock. I just got a Dutchware Chameleon in 1.6 Hexon wide. I am 185 pounds and 6 feet tall. I have no experience with Hammocks. I have watched a couple of Shugs videos on set-up.

Here is what I have so far. it's been about 4 nights and I get the same feeling. Lower back is sort of dull pain at around 3-4am. I have been going inside at that point most nights. Last night I switched my lie and shoved a pillow under my low back and that made the pain go away eventually. Pulled the pillow out and stayed sleeping until 7am.

My pillow is a small backpacking pillow with a little foam and an inflatable option. I don't inflate it and I sort of just curl it under my neck. my lay angle doesn't seem that extreme. And I think I need to experiment with a looser ridgeline, it's been pretty tight.

I am curious if maybe the 1.6 Hexon just has too much stretch and I needed a double layer or heavier fabric.

Hammock G.jpg
    Hammock GA.jpg

Thanks!
    Last edited by Rhitter; 07-24-2020 at 18:26.

Hammock
    Amok,Clark NX270, ENO junglenest
    Tarp
    Superfly
    Insulation
    Wooki
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    I basically had the same problem with my CHAMELEON, unfortunately after a few weeks I gave up and went back to my Blackbird XLC. Never did figure it out but the pain did go away. All I can say is Good Luck hope you figure it out.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Could maybe be the fabric. Some folks need a bit more support.
    Hope you find the groove.
    Shug
    Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Images
    Though preferably you won't need to do anything, but have you tried placing a small (or large) pillow under your knees? That can have many comfort benefits, as well as taking stress off of the lower back.