Thread: Backpack advice

Backpack advice

I'm new to wild camping but I did a couple of days in the lakes trekking and sleeping last week and I discovered two things. 1 my pack is far to big and heavy (70L) and the vango trek self inflating mat gave me back ache for days which is unusual as im an otherwise healthy 27! It also doesn't pack very small.

Some of the gear I carry include a zephyros 2 tent, a down sleeping bag and a wee stove and the usual survival bits and I would like advice on what size of rucksack to take? (Suggestions welcomed). Budget £60 max- ish. I have been looking at 45 and 35 litre packs such as Lowe alpine cloud peak 45 and the terra nova laser 35.

Secondly I need a mat that will be kind to my back and offer the best possible nights sleep. Happy to spend here as its my health were talking about. Climbing helvellyn with an aching lower back was not as enjoyable as I hoped the trip would be.
    Thanks in advance.

Hammock
    WBBB XLC and DIY Double Layer
    Tarp
    DIY Hex
    Insulation
    Wooki / Top quilt
    Suspension
    Whoopie slings
    Hi, Ginecha,

You might want to check the name of this forum. It’s about hammocks rather than general camping.

Coming on here and asking for the best way to carry your tent is probably not the best way to get a useful response.

Now, as to your post, there’s nothing wrong or inherently heavy about a 70L pack. Just don’t fill it up.

Have a good look at what you’re carrying and you’ll almost certainly be able to reduce the weight.

And, to bring it back on topic, just about everyone finds they get a much better sleep in a hammock than on the ground. Many people on here have converted to sleeping in a hammock 100% of the time (including at home).

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    I think Genecha has the wrong forum.