Thread: Hammock set up

Hammock set up

Hello i am new to hammock camping have been gathering gear for awhile to start i have a grand trunk double hammock trying it out in back yard i have posts about 12 feet apart eye hooks at 6 ft i have seen listed that my hammock is 10 ft 5 inches 83%of that witch make ridge line around 103 inches and having trouble getting good comfortable lay the ridge line is to loose to make ridge line taught its about 92 inches but when i lay in it the outside edges of my hammock are real loose and floppy any suggestions would be great thanks

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp
    OES, WL BullFro
    Insulation
    HG UQ, TQ, WB UQ
    Suspension
    Python Straps
    SHOTGUN, Welcome to the forum. I’m not familiar with that hammock so to be clear, are you saying it comes with a ridge line and that ridge line is about (all hammock measurements are “about”) 83% of total hammock length? If so, that’s a great starting point.

According to the hammock calculator found here: http://theultimatehang.com/hammock-hang-calculator/
    At 12 ft apart, your vertical connection should be about 6 ft, giving you a distance of about 18 inches off the ground or about chair height.

Are you lying in the hammock diagonally? Note that the outside edges WON’T be tight, there will be some floppiness. However, with the diagonal position, your head/shoulders will be very near one edge of the hammock and your feet (or one leg) will be very near the opposite side. There will probably be some tightness there, but the rest could be a little floppy.

Floppy isn’t important. Comfort is important. How does it feel?