Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    My NEXT project
    Insulation
    None! It'sTROPICAL

Looking for advice: How to position internal poles

Hi, I’d like some advice from anyone who uses / has built tarps with internal poles: I’d like to know if my idea is going to work or not.

I have only 8 yards of silpoly to make a tarp. I’ve never used a tarp with any pole mods before, but I want to make a tarp that can utilize 2 internal poles so I can pitch it on the ground (when there are no trees or good hang spots available). When pitched with the internal poles and a couple of trekking poles, I want to know whether you think it would be free-standing and stable enough to add a bathtub floor + bugnet.

As far as I have seen, internal poles can be set at an angle, with the poles leaning toward the middle of the ridge line or leaning outward toward the end of the tarp. To my mind, when the poles lean toward the middle this would be the most stable the tarp pitched on the ground, but it would provide far less space for a bug net.
    Conversely, with poles leaning toward the ends of the tarp I’d have have more space for the bug net (see pictures), but do you think this would still be stable enough?

Pictures show: tarp with poles leaning inward, and outward; bath tub floor and bug net - cramped or more spacious (both designs have the same sized footprint, but both require different seams that follow the direction of the poles where attachment points would hold up the netting).

Any opinions on what could go wrong, or needs to be considered, would be greatly appreciated.

Happy hanging!

Hammock
    DIY
    Tarp
    HG DCF-All of them
    Insulation
    HammockGear
    Suspension
    Kevlar + Beckett
    Images
    I'm of the thought that less is more.