DH DangerBird
    Tarp
    SilPoly
    Insulation
    Down, UGQ down
    Suspension
    Strap/Cinch Buckle

Howdi from western Montana

Hey all! I'm new to the forum and wanted to introduce myself.

I've been a backpacker for, gee, goin' into my fifth decade now. Seems like a fella would gain more sense in that amount of time and opt not to carry a burden into undeveloped woodlands. At least I finally discovered that sleepin' on the ground is for deer and bears. We advanced human-types need to treat our bodies to a better night's rest after hauling our belongings into the outback.

I tried hammock camping last year by burrowing gear and going into the hills with two buddies that were willing to show me the ropes. Needless to say, I got hooked. Now I'm all hammock geared up and chompin' at the bit to get at it. COVID-19 be damned, I'm going backpacking! Heck, I'm an expert at social distancing in the wilderness.

We've been very fortunate here in western Montana that the virus hasn't taken hold like other places. Our population is low and spread out over a huge area.
    I truly feel sorry for other folks that don't have it so easy during this nasty pandemic. Please, everyone, do what is necessary to keep yourself and your loved ones safe and healthy. We will get through this but it will take some time and practical precautions.

Hope to be sharing some experiences from the great outdoors with many of you real soon. And I trust I can count on most of you to help me get used to this new form of pitchin' camp and fashioning a bedroll. I was out for three nights not too long ago and it sure was nice to be sleeping ABOVE the snow.

Be talkin' with ya again soon. Get out there when ya can.

Giraffe

Hammock
    Hammocktent 90*, Sparrow, WBBB XLC
    Tarp
    light & waterproof
    Insulation
    Ongoing experiment
    Suspension
    Ongoing experiment