Tarp
    Hammock Gear Quest
    Insulation
    incubator & Burrow
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckle

Hello from Northern Illinois

Hello,

Wanted to introduce myself, my name is Justin and I am fairly new to hammocks. I started off with a Bear Butt hammock years ago and didn't really know how to hang it or lay in it correctly and almost gave up until I started searching around YouTube for how to videos. I have no trees on my property and I have only been hammock camping once so I was mainly using my hammock with a cheap stand I purchased on Amazon that didn't work well. I however saved up and recently purchased a Tato gear hammock stand so I can finally put everything I have learned to use at home in the backyard and put to use the tarp that I have only used the one time I went camping. After finally being able to hang properly and getting that perfect lay I decided to upgrade my hammock as well and picked up a Dutchware Chameleon wide that I received last week and I am loving. I will mainly be using my hammock in my backyard however i really would like to get out to some camp sites. If anyone has any recommendations for good hammock camping sites around northern IL please let me know, backpacking or car camping.

Images
    Under the mane Forum page is a Outings/Hangouts, Campouts, and Trip planning heading and under that is Midwest. There are a couple of people who plan outings and post them there.

Hammock
    DH Raven/Darien
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    Loco Libre/HG/SLD
    Suspension
    Myerstech/Becket
    The McKinley Woods section of the I&M Canal trail has a nice little primitive site that we use. You have to use Channahon State Park for overnight parking and either hike or bike the 3 miles in to the site, because McKinley Woods does not allow overnight parking. I usually park at McKinley Woods just to drop off my gear at the site, then drive to CSP and hike or bike in.