Dutch Cameleon
    Tarp
    HG DCF
    Insulation
    HG Burrow,Phoenix
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles

To Door, Or not to Door, that is the question

Hey guys, noob here. Buying my first tarp for my freshly ordered hammock. I am normally a tent backpacker out of my SMD solo. I haven't tarped camped yet and want to know in the Sierras and maybe some NW packing if I should go ahead and spend the money to have doors or not. I like the idea of sleeping in an open tarp, maybe even in porch mode, but fear it at the same time. I don't typically look for rainy days to go backpacking but cant avoid thunderstorms and the unplanned wet days. What do you all think?

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    Doors are very handy for blocking wind as much as rain.
    Can always tie them back or roll them up.
    Sounds to me like you kinda want them.
    Shug
    Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

If your are new to hammock camping, I recommend you NOT get a tarp with doors. One of the more daunting parts of hammocking is setting up your tarp. It takes some practice to get it right and the fiddle factor for a tarp with doors is much greater than one without.The additional weight and cost are also a factor. Very few times have I had the wind blowing in from the end that caused water to get in. Even in those cases, I was able to wrap my rain jacket around the end of the hammock to alleviate most of the problem That being said, I have a tarp with doors that I use in the spring and fall but, in the summer months, when I do most of my backpacking, always use a standard tarp.

Sent from my Pixel 3 XL using Tapatalk

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images
    Doors... yes!
    See Shug's post above

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
    Mike