Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Insulation needs

Guys,

I am new to the hammock camping world and had a request for experiences regarding top insulation. I have recently purchased a HG 20 Incubator for my UQ. I will be through hiking the Foot Hills Trail in September and the average temps for the area in Sept. are 86f daytime and mid 60's during the night. What level of top insulation would you recommend. Hammock Gear is having another 15% off sale and I figured if I need a TQ for the trip, now would be a good time to go ahead and order it.

Thoughts?

Thanks,
    Riley

Hammock
    Dutch 12' Netless
    Tarp
    ProVenture Nylon
    Insulation
    HG Incubator
    Suspension
    Humming Bird style
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by rnelson989 View Post
    I will be through hiking the Foot Hills Trail in September and the average temps for the area in Sept. are 86f daytime and mid 60's during the night. What level of top insulation would you recommend.
    I find a 20* and a 40* make a great all season combo. The 40* can be used in summer and is not too warm in 60F weather. If it is 70* or 80* at night then just a shirt and partially covered by the 40* is fine.
    The 40* will also be good for that occasional dip into the upper to mid 30's with clothing. If mid-30* and below you have the 20*. If you are wintering the combo of both the 20* and the 40* together will get you to below 10* perhaps a little lower. I did just fine at -6F using two 20*bags one inside the other.

I find the 50* about useless. mid-60's and up you can usually get away with just clothing and a light jacket. So I find that 50F to 65F range a bit limiting for the cost. where a 40F or little lower will cover a broader temp range.

anyway... my thoughts.
    Last edited by jeff-oh; 03-26-2020 at 11:27.

Quote Originally Posted by jeff-oh View Post