Tarp
    DIY .9 Silpoly Hex
    Insulation
    Various Quilts
    Suspension
    Straps (J-Bend)
    Images

Lightbulb DIY Dutch Hook Alternative using Dog Tag S-hooks

I haven't posted much, but have been hanging for a few years and lurking here longer. I finally saved enough to buy some Dutch bling this spring, only to discover that he's been forced to close down the warehouse.

So I got to thinking ... is there a way for me to create my own Dutchware? Obviously, I don't have a manufacturing plant in my garage or a ready supply of titanium stashed in the corner, but I do have a bunch of crap lying around; so I started digging.

I figured I'd start with something simple ... an alternative to the Dutch hook. For my tarp CRL, I'd been going the "no hardware" approach. For awhile, I simply pulled one end of my CRL through the eye I had spliced in the other end. Then I started playing with using a bowline and other tied approaches. Eventually, I just went with a cheap biner. And I mean one of those really cheap, buck-a-dozen, gates keep breaking, but just barely good enough biners you get at the dollar store. I really was looking forward to getting a Dutch hook for the simplicity and a bit of weight savings. (Plus it's the least expensive of the Dutch bling items I have my eye on.)

So if Dutch isn't shipping anymore, and I don't want to keep replacing broken cheapo biners, what else can I do?

I believe I've created something that will work just as well.

I found a bunch of small S-hooks. These come with the rabies vaccination tags I get every year for my dogs' collars, but I always just re-use the old ones and toss the new ones in a box. I'm sure similar s-hooks would be cheap and easy to find at any hardware store. The ones I have are steel and strong and weigh only 1-2g each (My scale kept wavering between 1g and 2g before settling on 2g. It doesn't get more granular.).