DIY - Single Layer and Clark TX-250
    Tarp
    Hen'sy Hex, Vertex
    Insulation
    AHE Jarbidge
    Suspension
    Varies

Costco Throw - tell me what you know

I've been thinking of buying a costco down throw to add maybe 15 degrees to my current system. I'm in Georgia and a 20 degree system is good for most of the year but up in the mountains in the coldest part of winter the 20 degree top and bottom quilt I have wont quite do it.

Anyhow, I know a warm hat and socks and merino wool long underwear will give me 10 degrees but the question is what to expect from the costco down throw. I've been camping and backpacking for 45 years (many in upstate new york and PA in single digits) and know how to stay warm. But the costco down throw looks like a great deal to get me from 20 F to maybe 10F or even 5F. What has it done for you?

Should work. You need to add/attach it so it does not compress. Also seam ripping either the horizontal or vertical seams helps get better loft and warmth. Generally ripping the horizontal seams is the way to go, but it depends on the direction of the insulation on your UQ.

I made my underquilt in a way that I can layer multiple CDQ's. I have taken a three layer down to zero F. I have taken a two layer down to 18 F. That was on the edge.

I think you should easily get 10 to 15 degrees. Also, you might look to add an underquilt protector. It has made a huge difference in my setup by keeping the wind from sucking the heat out of the underquilt.

Hammock
    Dutchware Netless - for now
    Tarp
    Xenon Winter
    Insulation
    Incubator & Burrow
    Suspension
    Beetle Buckles
    You’d have no problem getting an extra 10-15* by layering a CDT with a standard UQ. Mind you, the Costco throws are 3/4ish length so your feet might be a little unprotected. I typically put the Costco quilts right against the hammock and my “real” insulation over it so as not to compress the stuff that I expect to do most of the work.