Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Tarp recommendation for my Chameleon

First time posting here. I have just picked up a Chameleon as my first hammock, right now I'm looking to buy a tarp to complete the setup.

Wondering if anyone has a Minifly or Thunderfly for their Chameleons, I have been teetering between these two for a long time now and the more I read about them the harder it becomes for me to make a decision since I've never done hammock camping before, so I thought maybe information from someone with an exact same setup can help me make up my mind.

I don't do winter camping but heavy downpour with strong wind is my concern. Really like how simplistic the minifly is but I have doubts whether it would be able to keep me dry in a rainstorm.

Any advice would be appreciated.

Sent from my VTR-L29 using Tapatalk

Hammock
    Dutch chameleon
    Tarp
    Hg dcf 12 winter
    Insulation
    Cro 20 set
    Suspension
    Becket hitch
    I've used the mamajama if that's any consideration it works perfectly fine. So I'm assuming that the thunder and mini flys will work good also
    Not all those who wander are lost

Hammock
    Dutchware Chameleon
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    JrB+Cedar Ridge UP
    Suspension
    Turtle Ties
    I use a mountainfly with my chameleon, but have only had light rains so far.

Images
    Length-wise, any of the Warbonnet tarps are fine with the Chameleon. The stock tarps are all 11' long, which will give you nearly a foot of tarp overhang at each end of the hammock. Even the hammock's continuous loops where you attach the suspension will be covered by the tarp.

Between the Minifly and Thunderfly, the differences are:
    - Width
    - Size of doors
    - Panel pulls on sides of tarp (Minifly doesn't have them)

This photo from Warbonnet's site shows a comparison of the Minifly, Thundefly, and Mountainfly.