BMBH & Thermarest NeoAir All Season
    Tarp
    HG Dyneema Winter
    Insulation
    NeoAir All Season
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings

Quest for Ultra Lite Hammock System

I am going to ask for some guidance from the members on HF.

I have been hanging for about five years now. First using a gathered end hammock, then moved to a JRB BMBH. At first, I tried an under quilt and did not like the shoulder squeeze. Almost returned the BMBH, but tried a NeoAir pad in the sleeve and that changed everything. Thought this was the ultimate flat lay hang. The pad was plenty warm enough for me along with my Marmot Never Winter 30 degree bag. Granted, I am a warm sleeper and have taken this system down to 15 - 20 F with smart layering. Alas, after 4 years with my BMBH, I find I have to look for a lighter solution.

I have trimmed all the unnecessary things from my trips to lighten what I can and I hike with a GoLite Jam 50 liter pack. Next is the sleep system. And when I say sleep system, I am talking tent or hammock, any pads, quilts sleeping bags and stakes, suspension, etc. My present JRB BMBH system is coming in at 9.1 lbs - ouch! Trying to trim this whole system by 2.5 to 3 lbs.

This is where you guys come in.

My first preference is to stay with the JRB system, which consist of an older style BMBH with sleeve, the Neo Air pad, Never Winter 30 bag and nylon slings with Tri-Glide and Dutch clip. I have tried to figure out how to use my trekking poles as spreader bars, but on the older BMBH hammocks, they use a ring that the spreader bar notches into. I have seen Warbonnets adapter ends for the Monopod hiking poles, but this will not work with the BMBH older style. This would work on the new JRB Ultra Lite hammock, but there is no bug screen (which I require). Most of my hiking is in colder months, but I do hang occasionally during bug season.