Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

HH SS: no CBS, but definitely Wet Butt Syndrome!

I've been patiently waiting for cold weather, since the arrival of my HH SS, last month. Finally, last night, it was supposed to get down to freezing for several hours, so I hung everything in my backyard, and got to it.

Since I have no cold weather experience, and also haven't hung in my hammock much, this year, I wanted to go overboard on warmth and comfort (full list below), then peel off layers over subsequent nights to see how little I can use at various temps. I suspect I had too much warmth, but I wasn't so hot that I was noticeably sweating (yes, I know about imperceptible perspiration, and there was obviously a lot going on!).

When I gave up at midnight, I had an actual puddle under my butt. Although I would never take cotton into the woods, I hadn't bothered swapping out my city-wear cotton briefs, and they were soaked through. While I was warm, I hadn't even noticed, but when I went inside, a change of clothes was required before I crawled into bed.

Equipment Specs:
    HH Expedition
    SuperShelter undercover
    45-year-old down sleeping bag (under OCF pad) open, in single layer
    OCF pad
    mylar blanket (between OCF pad and hammock)
    Hammock Gear Econ Burrow 20 °F top quilt

Clothing Specs:
    wool/nylon puffy socks
    cotton briefs (never again!)
    lightweight capilene long johns
    polyester T-shirt
    midweight fleece jacket
    thin face mask
    beanie

Would a wicking layer (fleece blanket? chamois?) under my backside---inside the hammock---work? Would it pull the condensation to the cool air outside my top quilt and evaporate?

I would believe that I didn't need the extra insulation in my undercover, but I would like to find a combo that works all night...I don't want to have to get out and add something when the temp dips.