Darien, Chameleon
    Tarp
    tarp with doors
    Insulation
    LL TQ, HG UQ
    Suspension
    beetle buckles

Underquilts overkill?

I am a newbie trying to get a set up going. This summer I had a Hennessey hammock and loved it for my first hammock. Now I'm going lighter with a different brand. As the weather has turned colder, I am completely over fussing with a sleeping bag and pad. I'm getting an underquilt ASAP. I will eventually also get the top quilt. My future goal is to hike the entire AT in about 6 years b/c it just takes that long for a private school underpaid teacher to afford all the gear! So my question is, would a 0 degree underquilt be over kill for the AT starting in February? If I did get a 0 degree underquilt, does my top quilt also need to be 0 degree? I have very little fat on my body and get cold very easily. Last night it got down to 38 and I had 2 walmart sleeping bags, 2 blankets, 2 pairs of sweat pants and long johns on and 2 sweatshirts and a t-shirt on along with my hat and gloves. I was VERY comfortable. But boy what a hassle! Obviously I get cold easily.
    I just need help picking out the degree ratings in top and bottom quilts when working together. Is two 0 degree bags over doing it for the AT? I'm getting down quilts btw.

Hammock
    DH Darien, SLD Tree Runner
    Tarp
    HG hex
    Insulation
    Timmermade, Revolt
    Suspension
    Kevlar, Lapp Hitch
    Images
    In a previous post you mentioned that you are 5'5"/125# so backpack weight is going to be a significant concern for you.

In my very humble opinion, what you need right now is a mentor who has a lot of experience and is a smaller female who has faced the issues you will confront. I don't know if this will work, but you should try to get in contact with Dune Elliot, a young lady who has been active on UL forums and WhiteBlaze and who really seems to have her stuff together. She will not steer you wrong.