Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Summer Hanging?

Summer Hanging?

I am just getting into hanging and for now i will only be camping during the summer typically the lows will be in the 60s will i need an underquilt or would i be ok without one or worse canse should i use my sleeping pad i currently have?

Hammock
    bit.ly/2m61xEz
    Tarp
    bit.ly/2mZLRIw
    Insulation
    bit.ly/2pZjkEn
    Suspension
    bit.ly/2LY6heV
    A 40- or 50-degree underquilt is advisable, even in high summer. You can save weight with a torso-length quilt.

Even if the overnight temperature never drops below 70 degrees, convection can still rob you of your body heat and make you feel uncomfortably chilled if it is especially windy.

If you are too warm, you can vent or remove the quilt.

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' Hexon1.6 burntcoyote
    Tarp
    DIY ASYM
    Insulation
    Jarbridge UQ/CDT
    Suspension
    Dyno-Poly Beetles
    At 60 degrees you will need some sort of insulation. I use some DIY Costco top and under quilts when I hang in the spring and fall (Louisiana summers are just too hot.) A few of my friends use 40 degree sleeping bags and are plenty comfortable at 60degree temps.

In the summer I'll sometimes have my Costco underquilt hanging on the side incase temps drop below 75degrees, and just use a light blanket on top.
    If you don't know where you are going, you'll end up someplace else.
    - Yogi Berra

Hammock
    Dutch PolyD
    Tarp
    HG Winter Palace
    Insulation
    HG 0, 20, 40
    Suspension
    Dutch Whoopie Hook
    Images
    I used a ccf pad my first two years of hammock camping. I always used it, even if overnight lows were in the 70s.
    "A foolish consistency is the hobgoblin of little minds." Ralph Waldo Emerson

Hammock
    Warbonnet RidgeRunner
    Tarp
    Cloudburst
    Insulation
    AHE UQ / EE TQ
    Suspension
    Webbing / DC