DH Sparrow and Darien
    Tarp
    UGQ Winter Dream
    Insulation
    UGQ - Quack, quack
    Suspension
    Cinch buckles

Synthetic or down UQ for AT thru-hike?

Trying to decide which insulation to go with for my UQ setup and will greatly appreciate feedback/perspective/experiences which will help me decide...

Here are some of my thoughts, details, etc -

*Like the idea of synthetic UQ since AT can be a very wet trail (rain, humidity, clouds, etc) and synthetic insulation seems to perform better when wet, as compared to down.
    *Idea/plan is that my summer UQ will be 40* - switch-out quilts (cold for warm weather) after Shenandoah (NOBO)
    *I have no experience with synthetic insulation...said differently, my other 3 quilts are duck down
    *Down compresses better than synthetic, packs smaller, but not by much at 40* rating
    *Down weight less than synthetic, but marginally so at 40* rating...according to UQ mfg sites I've visited, 3 or 4 oz difference

My gear:
    *Dream Hammock - Asym, 11 ft long, 72' wide, SL
    *Tarp is UGQ Winter Place with doors; provides plenty coverage
    *My cold weather gear is 20*, down, and performs flawlessly

Discuss! Help?

Thanks

Quote Originally Posted by Dave556 View Post
    Trying to decide which insulation to go with for my UQ setup and will greatly appreciate feedback/perspective/experiences which will help me decide...
    In the not so recent past before I owned an underquilt, I went through a similar thought process. Since I live and camp in Georgia for the most part, my thought was that humidity would affect down more than synthetic insulation, so I have a synthetic UQ (actually two now). My favorite is my AHE Jarbidge, which I've used into the 20s several times and once down to 18 degrees F. At 5'9" it gives me shoulder to ankle coverage. My reasoning was that the UQ would be more likely to get damp from humidity and blown rain and I'd rather have synthetic if that happens. My top quilt is down.