Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Hammock
    Hennessy Expedition zip and WBBB

RidgeRunner question

I've been sleeping full time in a std Blackbird for about 5 years now, I use two top quilts inside each other, a 20deg F & a 40deg F which makes it super warm, I have a set way off getting in & out for those night time calls in the dark(don't bother with the bedroom light), it's been all good so far & Iv'e gotten around the calf ridge problem but it's a fine line, have been thinking about a RidgeRunner for something different but have not seen anyone getting in & out of one with a top & bottom quilt attached, with the angle of getting in it looks like the top quilt might tend to fall out, has anyone got any experience using the RidgeRunner with a top quilt? Easy? Hard? Pain in the butt?

Hammock
    WB RidgeRunner DL
    Tarp
    WB Superfly
    Insulation
    Burrow; pads, Lynx
    Suspension
    Dutch's Cinch Bugs
    I haven't found this to be a problem. Mind you, I have the net RR; maybe this is more a problem with the netless one. Just stuff my 20deg top quilt into the far saddlebag before getting out; its stayed in real good for me so far. I suppose you could stuff it down toward your feet or even attach it there instead if that's easier. The underquilt (Lynx, and other UQs made for the RR) is attached (with biners) to the bottom corners of the RR; I've never heard of (or had) problems with that slipping, either.

For me, sleep's better in the RR than in a GE hammock, maybe because I like to sleep on my sides. I'd recommend the double layer version and a pad (with or without an UQ); that will feel wider -- and a double layer should keep your pad from falling out!

Enjoy!

Hammock
    Warbonnet RR / BlackbirdXLC
    Tarp
    SimplyLightDesigns
    Insulation
    Lynx / LocoLibre
    Suspension
    webbing/buckles
    Images