Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hennessy super shelter or dutchware sock

I am looking at adding some more wind protection for my Hennessy asym zip hammock. I am wondering the pros and cons in other people’s opinion. Wind protection and how much colder could you get temp wise with either the super shelter or the sock. Looking for any and all advice. I like that the super shelter is two parts of I want to use bottom only but don’t know if one is better than the other. I Have zero experience with either one.

Hammock
    SuperiorGear or Dutch netless
    Tarp
    custom pentagon
    Insulation
    down hammock or UQ
    Suspension
    Dutch Mantis
    Images
    They are two different things, so using one or the other depends on what you're already doing for insulation. If you're not yet using anything, then definitely the SS. If you use a pad for insulation, then definitely the sock.
    "I wonder if anyone else has an ear so tuned and sharpened as I have, to detect the music, not of the spheres, but of earth, subtleties of major and minor chord that the wind strikes upon the tree branches. Have you ever heard the earth breathe... ?"
    - Kate Chopin

Hammock
    WBBB, WBRR, WL LiteOwl
    Tarp
    OES, WL BullFro
    Insulation
    HG UQ, TQ, WB UQ
    Suspension
    Python Straps
    I've had both and the sock will have more more protection. By "both" I mean I've used the WarBonnet Sock, not Dutchware. The SuperShelter is pretty much just an underquilt protector and some reflexit type material between it and the hammock - like using an un-inflated pad between your hammock and the UQP (under quilt protector). It works (in the summer) but I think you'd get a wider temperature range out of a sock.