Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Straps Vs Amsteel for Suspention (Weight Savings)

I have been hanging now for two years and I am addicted. Up until now most of my camping has been on a motorcycle and weight was not a concern. I have been using 1" polyester webbing that I bought from RSBR that weighs 6 grams per foot and I see Amsteel weighs 1.36 grams per foot . Right now I made my straps are 12 feet long cut from the 25 foot piece I bought.

Now that I am thinking about hiking the Superior hiking trail and starting to weigh things I notice my straps and toggles weigh 6.3 OZs

Is there a reason not to have 6 foot straps and long whoopee slings ?

Is there a solution I should look into ?

Thanks

Hammock
    AHE 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    AHE Shangi La
    Insulation
    KAQ Prototype
    Suspension
    AHE Whoopie Slings
    Shorter tree straps and normal length woopies would work fine for you. Many folks hang that way. Long straps are common with cinch buckle based suspension systems but many folks that use whoopies go with 4-8 foot straps....just depends on the size of trees you regularly need to get around. You certainly could save a few ounces.
    Arrowhead Equipment -- For all your hammock camping and backpacking gear
    Arrowhead-Equipment.com Visit AHE on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Check out pictures on Instagram

Hammock
    DIY, WBBB & Switchback
    Tarp
    HG cuben,OES Spinn
    Insulation
    DIY 3/4 UQ/TQ, UGQ
    Suspension
    Dynaglide / Dutch
    Images
    I have 6' kelvar straps and 6' Dynaglide whoopies attached to hammock continuous loops with Dutch whoopie hooks. That's the only hardware involved. A stick serves as a Marlin spike. I weigh just shy of 200 #.
    I do carry a 4' dogbone of Dynaglide, used to hang my gravity filter or extend my suspension, which happened only once.

Sent from my Pixel 2 using Tapatalk
    Mike
    "Life is a Project!"

Hammock
    DH Raven/Darien
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    Loco Libre/HG/SLD