Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Comfort and coverage

I'm a hammock noob who needs to choose between two hammocks and needs some feedback.

As it stands I happen to already have a tarp (from ground camping). It is 317 cm (10.4 feet / 124 inch) long. My plan is to bring this tarp, an inner tent for ground camping as well as a hammock. The inner tent will serve as a bug net when hammocking. Depending on my environment I will ground camp or hang. I will sew a compartment to the underside of the hammock which holds my sleeping pad which should give me enough insulation from below for summer camping - that compartment hangs relatively loose under the hammock so that the load is carried by the hammock itself. I am considering two different hammocks: A Hummingbird Single (264cm/104inch long) or a Hummingbird Single+ (295cm/116inch long). Here is what I can not judge well, mostly because I don't have much "hanging experience" (only one night):

1) How much more comfortable will the larger hammock be? I am 179 cm tall (I'm confused about the US system here :/) and weigh 72kg (158 pounds).

2) Will the tarp give me enough weather coverage (all year?) if I decide for the longer hammock of the two?

3) I can not imagine it, but are there any good reasons why my sewn on compartment would compromise the weight carrying capacity of the hammock?

I'm aware that the best solution for maximizing comfort and coverage would be a larger tarp and the bigger hammock, but I need to find the best overall solution considering weight, comfort and weather protection with the tarp I have.

Thanks for the input!
    Last edited by guenni; 03-31-2019 at 12:29.

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D
    For your comfort, please consider, a hammock 11 feet long and 5 feet wide.
    With an 11 foot hammock, choose an 11 foot tarp, (11foot ridgeline)