Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Need advice- Long distance between trees

Hey all, I'm struggling to get a good hang in areas when there is a long distance (30+ feet) between suitable trees. I'm new to all this so maybe it has been covered before but I can't seem to find it on the forum anywhere. Any advantage in these situations to using buckle vs whoopie? I know you have to try to get higher on the tree but that can be tough sometimes! Thanks for the help

Hammock
    SuperiorGear or Dutch netless
    Tarp
    custom pentagon
    Insulation
    down hammock or UQ
    Suspension
    Dutch Mantis
    Images
    The problem is that unless you're climbing the trees, you have to hang at a shallow angle. That's puts a LOT of pressure on your suspension, but that's why they are rated so high for strength (1000+ lbs). Both get hard to undo when you're packing up (or just need more slack), but whoopies can be better if using hooks or clips. I wouldn't put that sort of pressure on a toggle method suspension. Note that its real hard to create slack in the whoopie when they're tight without disconnecting. Buckles are real hard, too, but a little fiddling will work. Fiddling is not fun in cold weather, but I'm gathering you shouldn't have to worry about that.

And, of course, this can adversely affect your lay if you don't have a ridgeline on your hammock, making for some ornery calf ridge typically. If you don't have one, get one for sure.
    "I wonder if anyone else has an ear so tuned and sharpened as I have, to detect the music, not of the spheres, but of earth, subtleties of major and minor chord that the wind strikes upon the tree branches. Have you ever heard the earth breathe... ?"
    - Kate Chopin

Good point on the ridgeline, that may help. I set up the first time and it was like sleeping on a tightrope, afraid I was going to roll right out!

Hammock
    WildernessLogics 12x6
    Tarp
    HG cuben 13ridge12
    Insulation
    TopQuiltUnderQuilt
    Suspension
    S and D