Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Greetings from Inddiana

Hello Everyone,

Father of 2 here from Indiana. I am new to backpacking after not doing it for over 10 years. Been doing a bunch of day hikes the last year or so, and am planning a solo over night trip in the upcoming months.

I am researching purchasing my first hammock for backpacking. Any advice anyone can provide is appreciated. I have a lot of gear to pick up and I am taking my time trying to borrow what I can and make smart purchases where I need to.

I am considering the Jungle Explorer Zip XL as Hennessy at a pretty decent discount right now. If anyone out there has experience with this product let me know.

If my solo endeavor goes well I my plan is to pick up another hammock or 2 for the kids out with me.

I'm in a similar situation as you minus the kids. Its been about 4 years since my last backpacking adventure and have done a few day hikes here and there. Havent gotten a hammock yet but am very intrigued by them. If I start backpacking a bit more and use my gear more I may check into it even further then I have

Hammock
    DH Raven/Darien
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    Loco Libre/HG/SLD
    Suspension
    Myerstech/Becket
    Welcome to the forum! For a first hammock, I would not recommend going with an asymmetrical hammock. Once you've hung enough to figure out which direction you prefer to lay, the asym begins to make more sense. It would be a bummer to purchase a hammock that is designed to lay in one direction, only to find out that your body prefers the opposite.