Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Why partial or 3/4 under quilts?

I'm new to the hammock game and I don't understand why people use under quilts that aren't long enough to go from head to toe? I hate when my feet are cold at night. Is it a weight thing? If so, I would think that having to carrying that bit of extra weight for a longer quilt would be completely offset by being toasty warm from head to foot! I'm in the process of making a DIY UQ and TQ using the Costco down throws. Many instructions call for hacking off bits of the throws to make them smaller. I don't want to do that and then regret it! Please help me understand.

Hammock
    I have many so....
    Tarp
    Blackcrow DIY Tarp
    Insulation
    FrankenquiltUQ/Pod
    Suspension
    Whoopie Slings
    Images
    The partial UQ costs less. Less down and fabric to pay for.
    Easier to set in my opinion and get right on the hammock in my opinion.
    Takes up less room in the pack.
    I use a Thermarest sit pad under my feet lightly inflated to insulate my feet. Also use it around camp to sit on and fan fire. Also put my down jacket over the end of my hammock for feet warmth since the down jacket would just be in my pack.
    To me the partial UQ makes sense to about 20ºF. Then many like a full.
    My UQ Video playlist....https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...mBYSPGHjdyGqsL

Opinions will differ on this but this is my take on it.
    Shug
    Whooooo Buddy)))) All Secure in Sector Seven

Hammock
    AHE 1.1 dbl
    Tarp
    AHE Shangi La
    Insulation
    KAQ Prototype
    Suspension
    AHE Whoopie Slings