Tarp
    HG; ENO
    Insulation
    HG; Jacks R Better
    Suspension
    numerous, seasonal
    Images

Homeless Problem at Wolfpen Hang Site in Alabama

It will soon be time for Squidbilly to announce our Spring Hang at Wolfpen Camp in the Bankhead National Forest, Alabama. Before he announces the hang, I would like to bring up an issue for discussion on how to handle the homeless problem which has developed at Wolfpen. Last Fall when Wanda, Steve, and I arrived at Wolfpen Camp for our Fall Wolfpen Hang we found 5 homeless people in or close to the main camping area. Wolfpen is a no charge campground with no water or toilets. I am a retired Forensic Nurse and I worked with many sexual predators for over twenty years. After having discussions with two of the men they were showing signs of being possible sexual predators. This based on their words and actions. For the rest of the weekend our group spent a lot of time keeping an eye on our children and females attending the hang. A couple of weeks ago Wanda, Tammy and I drove through Wolfpen Camp and one of the men was still in the main camping area, living out of his car. It appears this man is moving to another camp site in the area every 14 days (NF rules) and returning to Wolfpen Camp. Even worse the rangers may not be enforcing the rule of only camping at the site for 14 days. Whatever the reason, this man is still in the area and poses a safety issue. What are your thoughts?

Hammock
    Hennessy Ultralite Explorer A-sym
    Suspension
    Eno Atlas Straps
    I agree it's a problem and it was scary!!!
    I would be afraid to camp there alone, just John and I....

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Hammock
    Juniper or Walhalla
    Tarp
    Trailheadz winter
    Insulation
    20° Etherial
    Suspension
    Straps/Breeze buck
    We encountered a similar problem here in Kentucky. I would talk to the local rangers in the area and ask if they have a solution!