Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Question Winter Hammock - Bridge vs Gathered End for warmth...

For 3 season I use bridge for comfort and being able to sleep on side.

For this winter I was hoping to get your opinions - I have a 0-degree UQ for my Ridgerunner (w/ Spindrift) as well as a 0-degree UQ for Blackbird XLC - which would be warmest option? I am thinking that I would be warmer in a gathered-end as it appears that I will be more enveloped in a pod of insulation.

Thanks for your opinions!

Hammock
    DH Raven/Darien
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    Loco Libre/HG/SLD
    Suspension
    Myerstech/Becket
    I think a gathered end will be warmer, because the underquilt wraps around your sides- whereas the UQ on the bridge stays flat.

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk

Hammock
    JRB BMBH
    Tarp
    JRB Universal Tarp
    Insulation
    JRB TQ, UQ
    Suspension
    Web-cinch buckles
    I am a side sleeper also, but I flop around quite a bit before I settle in. I have a partial underquilt (JRB Greylock 4) and what I noticed is the set-up, with a GE, for laying on my back is different than laying on my side. If I start on my back, then go to my side, the foot end of the UQ is flapping in the breeze and letting in cold air. To shift to side sleeping I have to tighten up the foot end. If I start on my side with the foot end tightened up, it is difficult to move to my back due to how tight the foot end has to be. It is so tight I can't get on a good diagonal.

So, I got a bridge hammock (Bear Mountain Bridge Hammock). I can flop around like a fish that went for a walk, and the UQ is always in the right place. I may go back to my GE hammock in warmer weather when cold spots aren't so cold, but for cold temps, I like the bridge.

Images
    Quote Originally Posted by Elmer003 View Post