Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Will I be too hot?

Hello everyone! I'm new to hammocking and I was wondering, If I have a 0 degree underquilt on a warm summer night will I be too hot?

Hammock
    Dutchware Chameleon
    Tarp
    WB Mamajamba
    Insulation
    HG Under/Top quilt
    Suspension
    Cinch Buckles

Will I be too hot?

Look up Shug Emery's channel on youtube. He has a video about venting cold weather hammocks in warmer weather

Hammock
    AMOK Draumr 3.0
    You just hang it looser underneath and it's prolly OK. 0° is a bit over-kill, but...

[ You say you are "new"...Might as well just get the truth out to you now. And that is that once you get the hammocking bug, you WILL end up with more TQ/UQ combos than your wife is gonna be happy with, so it's gonna be a moot question pretty quickly.]
    Last edited by Flash Grundelore; 01-12-2019 at 08:35.
    >> Onward thru the fog...>>
    Find me on my blog Moosenut Falls https://moosenutfalls.wordpress.com/

TY Flash Grundelore. Yeah it's overkill but I want to avoid having several quilts and I may want to try some winter camping which is why I'm thinking about a 0 degree.

Quote Originally Posted by Menkel View Post
    Hello everyone! I'm new to hammocking and I was wondering, If I have a 0 degree underquilt on a warm summer night will I be too hot?
    No, I've done it. You'll be fine. Just loosen the UQ suspension until you're at an ideal temp. You can also adjust your top insulation accordingly.
    Last edited by Red Wing; 01-12-2019 at 09:29.

Hammock
    Dream Hammock Raven
    Tarp
    UGQ WD 11
    Insulation
    HG/UGQ/EE/LL
    Suspension
    Straps & buckles