Assembling a steel pipe hammock stand

I currently live in a place where I don't trust the walls, so I purchased galvanized steel pipe to construct a stand.

I am not sure what is the best way to assemble the cross bar. What I have is two 60" 1-" steel galivanized pipes, a universal joint and two elbow joints.

I don't know whether to affix each pipe to the elbow joint first or whether to connect them and then affix one end at a time.

I've never done this before, and am not sure about the safest and easiest way to do this.

Thanks.
    Last edited by JJMurphy; 10-21-2018 at 07:40.
    JJ Murphy
    www.TheJoyfulForager.com

Hammock
    HH Expedition, HH Explorer Dlx
    Tarp
    Noah 12, BCUSA 10
    Insulation
    JRB Nest, Old Rag
    Suspension
    Stock HH w/rings
    Images
    Deb
    TOS Terms of Service Link
    Guidelines to New For Sale Section Link
    How to obtain access & maintain your threads in For Sale Section Link
    Guidelines for Want to Buy (WTB) Section
    Hammock Acronyms

"The older I get, the more I appreciate my rural childhood. I spent a lot of time outdoors, unsupervised, which is a blessing." Barbara Kingsolver

Hammock
    Dutch Chameleon, DIY
    Tarp
    Dutchware Hex, DIY
    Insulation
    HG, DIY
    Suspension
    Straps, Beetles
    Images
    Quote Originally Posted by JJMurphy View Post
    I currently live in a place where I don't trust the walls, so I purchased galvanized steel pipe to construct a stand.

I am not sure what is the best way to assemble the cross bar. What I have is two 60" 1-" steel galivanized pipes, a universal joint and two elbow joints.

I don't know whether to affix each pipe to the elbow joint first or whether to connect them and then affix one end at a time.

I've never done this before, and am not sure about the safest and easiest way to do this.

Thanks.