Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Expensive vs. "cheap"

I'm relatively new to hammock camping, having spent few nights in one, but I have been intrigued with the idea for years. Last year, I bought my first, a Gold Armour double off Amazon for $23. I have seen hammocks from less than $10, up to phenomenal prices, and I'm wondering....what's the actual difference.

I know from experience that a $600 scope is better than a $100 scope, and the same applies to many other things, but a sheet of nylon stretched between two points....just can't grasp the advantages of the costlier models.

Thoughts?

Hammock
    11' 1.2 Robic XL
    Tarp
    Misc DIY ones
    Insulation
    Downy Goodness
    Suspension
    UHMWPE Straps
    Images
    There's a lot of differences. Quality of the fabric is a big one. Often, the $10-20 hammocks you see popping up everywhere are using a lesser fabric and will expierence a lot more stretch or the stiching isn't quite as good or there's more failure points. A lot of the higher end hammocks have integrated bug nets, pull-outs, different suspension options, or a myriad other things. When you get into the realm of the technical fabrics like ROBIC or Hexon, the fabrics are less prone to stretching or have a much better (less plasticy, cottony, silky, etc) feel to them.
    73 de W4BKR

Not all who wander are lost... - J.R.R. Tolkein
    ...Besides, if we get lost, we just pull in somewheres and ask directions - Captain Ron

The ever striving gram weenie...always updated with the next trip

Hammock
    DIY 10.5' HyperD 1.6
    Tarp
    Warbonnet, SLD
    Insulation
    Hammock Gear
    Suspension
    WB Straps+Buckles
    Images
    The hammock is basically the whole point of your trip. If it fails, it's over. If the savings were something like $25 vs $225, I may play that game. But since you can get a solid, quality hammock that has been well tested (by actual users) year after year, for about $75 with suspension, it's just not worth gambling.