Tarp
    Warbonnet Edge
    Insulation
    3/4 Warbonnet Yeti
    Suspension
    Dutch 1.5 Spider

Hummingbird Hammock tree straps

Howdy Folks

Ok, so Ive been using a whoopie sling set up for a few years now and have started to take a close look at my entire kit, trying to shed weight where ever possible to future thru hikes. Im interested in replaced my whoopie slings. Current weight is 4.5oz. I find them kind of finnicky plus one of them is stuck on my dutch hook and I cant loosen it up to be able to adjust it.

I came across the Hummingbird tree straps and dont see a whole lot of info besides the standard specs (2.4oz) and one or two useful videos online. I love the weight and price but they dont seem to be too popular. Is it because they seem to be kind of short? A lack of connection to the hammock? Am i missing something here??

Thanks yall!

Hammock
    DH Raven/Darien
    Tarp
    WB Mountainfly
    Insulation
    Loco Libre/HG/SLD
    Suspension
    Myerstech/Becket
    The Hummingbird suspension does seem a bit short- especially if you have to hang on large trees. Here are some other options from Dutchware Gear. Yes, these straps are on the pricier side; but if you're looking for the lightest option available, you have to be willing to pay for it. I just purchased a pair 12' UHMWPE straps (3rd link). I'm using them with a Becket hitch directly to the hammock. My entire suspension- including my Evo Loops from MyersTech (used to make a quick connection around the tree), weighs 2.4oz. If I had chosen to purchase the Spider Web 1.5 straps, my suspension would be under 2oz. I tried whoopie slings, but found them too fiddly. The Becket hitch is quick and easy.

https://dutchwaregear.com/product/sp...s-and-huggers/
    https://dutchwaregear.com/product/sp...traps-huggers/
    https://dutchwaregear.com/product/uh...traps-huggers/
    Last edited by rweb82; 10-16-2018 at 10:39.

Hammock
    Too many to list here.
    Tarp
    UGQ Hex Hanger 12
    Insulation