Tarp
    HG hex
    Insulation
    Timmermade, Revolt
    Suspension
    Kevlar, Lapp Hitch
    Images

Knot gurus... what knot is this?

I stumbled across this while playing with bowline and kalmyk. It is for a fixed loop, with the advantages being it is super quick to tie, no feeding the tail to tie, and releases extremely easily. I've searched a bit and haven't been able to find it on various knot websites.

It seems as if it shouldn't work, like some Euro Death Knot, but it does. Not that I would ever suggest using it for climbing or shock loading. I've been using it on my tarp ridgeline for a couple of months and it has never failed. Recently I tied it with 2" kevlar and MikekiM and I pulled on it with all our combined weight plus as much ooomph as we could muster and it didn't budge a millimeter. It looks as if it might invert and that the slipped bight might get sucked thru the loop but it doesn't... when tied correctly, which is of course a crucial caveat for any knot.

The trick for dressing it is to pull the standing end and the slipped bight against each other.

I hope this photo sequence is clear enough but if it isn't I'll try to do a video next time I'm outside. Anyway, thanks for help IDing it and opinions about the advisability or stupidity of using it.

Unknown_Knot01.jpg Unknown_Knot02.jpg Unknown_Knot03.jpg Unknown_Knot03a.jpg Unknown_Knot04.jpg Unknown_Knot05.jpg
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by cmoulder; 09-09-2018 at 08:01.
    Five Basic Principles of Going Lighter (not me... the great Cam Honan of OZ)
    “If everybody is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking.” ~ Gen. George S Patton

Hammock
    Warbonnet Blackbird XLC
    Tarp
    Warbonnet Edge
    Insulation
    Aegismax 40* Down
    Suspension
    Whoopies & Huggers
    Basically it's a slippery sheet bend. If there is a specific name for it, I don't know. Others will be along soon. Looks interesting!

Sent from my LG-M322 using Tapatalk

Hammock
    DIY