Images

Ground Dweller from Virginia

Greetings everyone,

I'm completely new to the idea of hanging from trees and whatnot. I have an old friend from Michigan who is a long time member here who got my 16-year-old son interested in hammock camping. Now he is trying to suck me in too! The promise of a good nights sleep and fewer backaches has certainly tweaked my interest, too many roots and rocks in my past.

We live in central Virginia, in the Charlottesville area. It's about a twenty-minute drive for us to the Rockfish Gap region of the Appalachian Trail and Shenandoah National Park. I've done a fair amount of hiking, and tent camping, but like I said this swinging from trees thing is new to me.

I am ready to pull the trigger and purchase a hammock and some accessories, but I'm a little bewildered by the subtle options. Warbonnet looks cool, while my friend favours Dutchware, and his own made gear. My son was talking about a 'dream hammock'. There are two many options and I have too little money!

My son and I are hoping to attend the 'hang' at Prince William Forest in November. But I really hate to wait until then to make a decision on what to buy. I'd really like to get something and start 'getting used to it' in the mean time. Is there anybody in this area that would enjoy a chance for a cup of coffee and some discussion about hammocking? Are there any local groups that I should know of?

I really appreciate the community here on the forums, it seems like a great bunch of folks.

Love to hear back from some of ya'll.

Michael from Virginia...

Welcome from NoVa. First, I really hope to get see you at the NOVA Hang in November. You’ll be able to see a variety of setups.
    As far as Dutchware or Dream Hammock, you can’t go wrong either way. I have both.

I’m originally from Waynesboro. Love the mountains down there. As far as local groups, there is the Old Dominion Hangers with several folks from central VA. Hopefully one of them chimes in.