Tarp
    HG Journey (11')
    Insulation
    DIY w/ CDTs
    Suspension
    various

Modding my DIY rig

Energetic Noob here. My rig:

DIY Hammock: 11.5' GE with milsurp ripstop nylon from Ebay.
    Suspension: modified "Phantom Grappler" (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6jGToqEU2-U). No hardware.
    Insulation: Leiavoia's awesome Gemini UQ design; DIY TQ also from Costco down throws.
    Bug net: DIY Fronkey-style.
    Snakeskins: DIY one-piece curtain-sheer tubes with attached suspension pouches.
    Storebought tarp (Kelty Noah 12)

I'm pleased with the rig; it treated me well on its inaugural trip, four days backpacking in the West Canada Lakes Wilderness Area (Adirondack Park).

However, the suspension is just plain too long. I was having trouble finding trees spaced wide enough to keep me from scraping the ground.

I think the problem is in the multiplicity of connections. At each end, there's a CL in the channel, w/ no larks head (it links to the whoopies and the SRL with a soft shackle). The whoopie soft shackles to another CL (to prusik around the tree hugger, as detailed in the link above). Every connection adds length.

One obvious fix is to splice the second CL through the whoopie (as detailed in the video above. I tried to keep it flexible--and paid the price). I'll be doing this soon.

Here's my question: what's the downside to also replacing the CL in the channel with an improved soft shackle? (I have the CL "loose" [no larks head] because it seems to make the gathered ends more adjustable--and thus the hammock more comfortable).

Is there something to worry about in this application of the SS that doesn't apply when the SS is simply connecting the CL, the SRL, and the whoopie?

Thanks for reading my long post--and for your input!