Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

DD Superlight Combo Initial Impressions.

So I bought some new gear from DD Hammocks and decided to give my first impressions about it. These are all the negatives I could find while trying it out at home. If anyone has some advice on the things that I’m pointing out please let me know. I’m still new at hammock camping so I could use some pointers.

DD Superlight Combo
    Besides the whoopie suspension, no instructions were included. There were however advertisements attached on each of the stuff sacks. Mostly of the superlight products. Which I just bought in this combo pack. So I don’t need them. I think it’s a bit insulting after spending 190 euros you get a bunch of advertisements attached to your new gear. There were also a bunch of warnings included about what not to do with your newly acquired gear. Which isn’t very fun.

DD Superlight Hammock
    The underblanket connection loops poke you in the face (or ear in my case, eek) when you don’t have an underblanket connected and you lay diagonally.

The soft shackles are very annoying to use. Because you need to hold on to the hammock, the tree huggers and at the same time loop the soft shackle through. You need to have an extra pair of hands. To tighten the soft shackles you need to squeeze all the way around it. Which means the woopie sling and the tree huggers get in the way. I wish the Superlight karabiners were an option in stead of the soft shackles. They seem to be a lot easier to use.

The warnings included with the tree huggers say to __not__ use a marlinspike hitch. No reason why though. I guess the friction isn’t good for them in the long run. But not having to use the soft shackles might make me use a marlinspike hitch anyways.

DD Superlight Hammock Mosquito Net
    The net opening on each side are very small and the cinch cords are way to big to be used all the way.